The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support

In Spring 2022, BBFA launched the Female Coaches Community. The was introduced to support female coaches within the County to continue development and importantly network and share experiences with other female coaches in the area.

The group of female coaches will be supported throughout by FA Regional Coach Development Officer for Women & Girls, Vicky Fisher along with support from FA Mentors Jon Simmons & Chris Berry. The team will support delivery of both practical and virtual workshops. 

In it's first 6 months since launching, 90 female Coaches are part of the programme with the group continuing to grow and evolve & it is perfect for both new coaches into the game or experienced coaches. 

Not currently a member? You are still able to join the BBFA Female Coaches Community and what's more it is FREE to join!!

Becoming a member gives you:

  • Opportunity to attend practical and virtual workshops across the season for FREE
  • Access to new community network where coaches can chat and share session plans and ideas
  • Opportunity to be supported by FA Mentors in your local grassroots clubs

 

Click here to become part of the BBFA Female Coaches Community

 See below schedule for 2022/23 season to see what's coming and available......  

FAQs

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com.

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

North West – Steve Smithies – steve.smithies@thefa.com

North East – Graeme Carrick – graeme.carrick@thefa.com

East Midlands – Samantha Griffiths – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

West Midlands – Andy Somers – andy.somers@thefa.com

East – Darren Moss – darren.moss@thefa.com

South East – Kevin England – kevin.england@thefa.com

London/ Armed Forces/ Jersey/ Guernsey – Kevin Green – kevin.green@thefa.com

South West – Ciara Allan – ciara.allan@thefa.com

Get In Touch

Tor receive support from The FA Coach Mentor programme,

please contact our Football Development Team on 01235 558450 

email: Development@Berks-BucksFA.com

Related Articles

View All