Grassroots Football Awards 2023

Grassroots Football Awards | 2023 Finalists Announced

We're delighted to announce the shortlisted finalists ahead of our annual BBFA Awards evening.
Our County FA will again be celebrating those people, clubs and leagues who make a positive difference across our communities at our annual Awards Ceremony, to be held on Thursday 20th July at Adams Park, home of Wycombe Wanderers FC.

The England Football & McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards are our chance to celebrate all the work that goes into the grassroots game in Berks & Bucks – and importantly, say a huge 'thank you' to all the incredible volunteers who inspire us to make our local game better For All.

As with previous years, we again asked for your help to uncover the exceptional, the tireless, and the devoted heroes of your grassroots game and you delivered. For six weeks earlier in the year, you nominated in your hundreds which resulted in yet another record breaking year for number of nominations received. 

Of course, with so many exceptional stories of individual commitment and club & league achievements from across the region, this only served to make the judging process even more difficult than it has been in previous years. It therefore goes without saying that the shortlisted nominees in this year's Awards should be incredibly proud of their achievement.

We are delighted to be able to announce the shortlisted nominees in the following England Football & McDonald's Grassroots Football Award categories, with the winners to be revealed at the Awards evening: 

Berks & Bucks FA Awards

Impact of Football Award

Ascot Utd Football Club
Just Play Dads Football (Woodley)
Woodley United FC

Volunteer of the Year Award

Darren (Sid) Sirett (Great Horwood FC)
Lisa Meadows (Laurel Park FC)
Sam Hawkins (Wargrave Wolves)

Outstanding Contribution Award

Andy Roff (Haddenham Youth FC)
Mark Rozzier (Woodley United)
Peter Rice (Aylesbury & District League)

England Football Awards

Club of the Year Award

4 Future Pro FC
Caversham United FC
Hungerford Town Juniors

Coach of the Year (Disability Pathway) Award

Gavin Butler (Chalfont Saints FC)
Vincent Shrieves (MK Irish FC)

Coach of the Year (Female Pathway) Award

Hayley Thomas (Aylesbury Vale Dynamos FC)
Jo Hawkins (Wargrave Women & Girls' FC)
Tim Croker (Burnham Juniors FC)

Coach of the Year (Male Pathway) Award

Brian Lackey (Woodley United)
Duncan Josey (Hungerford Town Juniors) 
Mark Rodell (Pinewood FC)

Grounds Team of the Year Award

Abingdon Youth
Stoke Mandeville FC

League of the Year Award

Chiltern Church Junior Football League
East Berks Football Alliance
North Berks Football League

Match Official of the Year Award

Jessica Painter
Samuel Palmer
Simon Parbery

New Volunteer of the Year Award

Katy McPherson (Wantage Town)
Samantha Mills (Caversham AFC)
William Bateman (Wokingham & Emmbrook FC)

Young Volunteer of the Year Award

George Dartnell (Maidenhead Utd Juniors)
Jakub Nowotynski (4 Future Pro)
Morgan Heimsoth (EC7)

The Lioness Award

Aylesbury Vale Dynamos FC
Laurel Park FC
Marlow FC

Positive Football Environment Award

Dom Hood (Whiteknights FC)
Frank Sugrue (Chalfont Saints FC)
Robert Austin (Hype Train FC)
Shaan Aggarwal 

Additionally, we'd like to thank all of the people who nominated their friends, fellow volunteers, clubs and leagues for recognition. Grassroots football in Berks & Bucks simply wouldn't exist without the contributions and sacrifices you all make for the sheer love of the game and for that we cannot thank you enough.

We now look forward to the Awards evening which is to be held in person at Wycombe Wanderers FC, on the Thursday 20th July, to celebrate and recognise the incredible grassroots football volunteer network across our region.


Related News

View All