GRFA Background

Finalists Announced

The top three nominated finalists for each category of the The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards are revealed

Our County FA will again be celebrating those people, clubs and leagues who make a positive difference across our communities at our annual Awards Ceremony next month.

This is our chance to celebrate all the work that goes into the grassroots game in Berks & Bucks – and importantly, say a huge 'thank you' to all the incredible volunteers who inspire us to make our local game better For All.

As with previous years, we again asked for your help to uncover the exceptional, the tireless, and the devoted heroes of your grassroots game and you delivered. From 5 April to the 10 May 2019 you nominated in your hundreds which resulted in a record number of nominations this year. 

Of course, with so many exceptional stories of individual commitment and club & league achievements from across the region, this only served to make the judging process even more difficult than it has been in previous years. It therefore goes without saying that the shortlisted nominees in this year's Awards should be incredibly proud of their achievement.

We are delighted to be able to announce the three shortlisted nominees in the following FA & McDonald's Grassroots Football Award categories, with the winners to be revealed at a local ceremony in June: 

Coach of the Year

Carolyn Tuttle (Burghfield FC)
James Byrne (Aylesbury United Ladies & Girls FC)
James Thorpe (Abingdon United)

Supporter of the Year

Jerry Goodenough (Didcot Casuals U13 Girls)
Steph Cullinan (Smiles Aylesbury FC)
Thomas Woodrow (Thatcham Town Harriers)

Grounds Team of the Year

Chris Cording & Mark Hill (Abingdon Youth FC)
Dave Wyeth (Reading City FC)
Richard, Ian & Mike (Twyford United)

Club of the Year

Laurel Park
Shinfield Rangers FC
Tattenhoe FC

Volunteer of the Year

Anita Wise (Moretonville Junior FC)
Lizzie Jackson (MK Dons Buzzards)
Michelle Donovan (George Green Juniors)

Rising Star of the Year

Jacob Wilson (Newbury AFC)
John Claridge-Alder (Abingdon Youth FC)
Jonty Summerell (St James FC - Chiltern Church League)

Project of the Year

Jason Savage (Aylesbury United Ladies & Girls FC)
Lizzie Jackson (MK Dons Buzzards)
Wayne Cannon/Ray Barclay (Shinfield Rangers BOBiCats)

Match Official of the Year

Malcolm Hillen
Ron James
Tom Walton

RESPECT Award of the Year


League of the Year

Berkshire Futsal League
South Bucks Mini Soccer Conference
Thames Valley Premier League

Additionally, we'd like to thank all of the people who nominated their friends, fellow volunteers, clubs and leagues for recognition. Grassroots football in Berks & Bucks simply wouldn't exist without the contributions and sacrifices you all make for the sheer love of the game and for that we cannot thank you enough.

We now look forward to the Awards evening which is to be held at Stadium MK, the home of MK Dons, on the Friday 28th June at 7:30pm and to celebrating with as many of you as we can to recognise the incredible volunteer network in our regions.

National FA Award Winners

Our local winners of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards are also automatically put forward for the National FA Awards. The national winners, selected by a national judging panel, are chosen from a shortlist of local winners selected by County FAs across England.

The National FA Award Ceremony is to be held at Wembley on 4 August and forms part of The FA Community Shield celebrations.

Local winners from Berks & Bucks FA that are shortlisted for national awards will be contacted directly by The FA. Good luck everyone!

Thank you all for your continued support in 2018/19 and we look forward to doing it all over again with you all in 2019/20.


Related News

View All