awards 2019 header image

Award Winners for 2019 Revealed

The Berks & Bucks FA winners of The FA & McDonalds Grassroots Football Awards 2019 are announced.

This time last week, nearly 100 volunteers from across Berkshire & Buckinghamshire were getting ready to attend our annual awards ceremony at Stadium MK in Milton Keynes on Friday 28th June.

The FA & McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards is our chance to celebrate those people, clubs and leagues who make a positive difference across our communities on the big stage. It's an opportunity to say a huge 'thank you' to all the incredible volunteers who inspire us every day to make our local game better For All.

As with previous years, we asked for your help in highlighting the exceptional, the tireless, and the devoted heroes of your grassroots game and you delivered.

Because of this support, the evening was jam-packed with exceptional stories of individual commitment and club & league achievements from across the region and it was through these stories that our winners on the night were revealed; as video messages of their dedication and commitment played out to those in attendance.

Guest speaker Steve Brown (left) is interviewed by County Coach Developer Mark Rivers (right)

We are delighted therefore to confirm the Berks & Bucks FA winners in the following FA & McDonald's Grassroots Football Award categories for 2019 are; 

Match Official of the Year

Malcolm Hillen

RESPECT Award of the Year

Paul Hubbard (Moretonville Juniors)

Project of the Year

Shinfield Rangers BOBiCats

Grounds Team of the Year

Chris Cording & Mark Hill (Abingdon Youth FC)

Coach of the Year

James Thorpe (Abingdon United)

Supporter of the Year

Thomas Woodrow (Thatcham Town Harriers)

League of the Year

Thames Valley Premier League

Club of the Year

Shinfield Rangers FC

Rising Star of the Year

Jacob Wilson (Newbury AFC)

Volunteer of the Year

Lizzie Jackson (MK Dons Buzzards)

Also on the night, we were delighted to be able to recognise our local winners of the 2019 national FA Groundsman of the Year Awards; they are:

Steve Mulford (East Hendred AFC)

FA Grounds Person of the Year 2018/19
(Step 7 & Below)

Neil Gardner (Holmer Green FC)

FA Grounds Person of the Year 2018/19
(Step 5 & 6)

In addition, Aylesbury Flooring FC were presented with a Special Recognition Award to honour an extraordinary season of success for the club. They won 5 out of 5 cups in the 2018/19 season - including the County FA Sunday Intermediate Cup, the League Cup and of course, the national FA Sunday Cup; beating Birstall Stamford 3-1 in the Final at the ABAX Stadium, home of Peterborough United.

To view the full gallery of images from the evening on Flickr, please click here.

We'd like to thank all of the people who nominated their friends, fellow volunteers, clubs and leagues for recognition. Grassroots football in Berks & Bucks simply wouldn't exist without the contributions and sacrifices you all make for the sheer love of the game and for that we cannot thank you enough.

Thank you all for your support this seaoson - we're already looking forward to celebrating with even more of you at next year's awards! So please do look out for information on how to nominate your local heroes of the grassroots game for the 2019/20 season in the New Year.


Related News

View All