Grassroots Football Awards 2022 Winners

Grassroots Football Awards | 2022 Winners Revealed

Celebrating grassroots volunteers across Berks & Bucks

Last night we held our annual Berks & Bucks FA Awards ceremony to recognise and celebrate your Grassroots Football Heroes across our region.

For over 12 years, the England Football & McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards have recognised and celebrated leagues, clubs, coaches, players, match officials and volunteers that go over and above when it comes to football in their local communities.

Over the last couple of years, as a result of the pandemic, we weren't able to host in-person award ceremonies for people nominated in 2019/20 and 2020/21, instead having to turn to virtual events.

Hosting our first in-person Awards in three-years, we were incredibly honoured and humbled to be joined by some of our previous winners of these Awards, as well as this year's finalists to celebrate not just one season of incredible acheivements, but three all in one night.

The winners of the England Football & McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards 2022 are:

Grounds Team of the Year
Pitstone & Ivinghoe Junior FC

League of the Year
Milton Keynes Sunday League

Match Official of the Year
Katie Allen

Project of the Year
MK United

Rising Star of the Year
Carl Robinson (Totteridge)

Coach of the Year for Adult Teams
Richard Hird (MK Buzzards)

Coach of the Year for Youth Teams
Josh Boggi (Taplow Utd)

Spirit of Grassroots Football Award
Jeff & Janet Jaffery (Burnham Juniors)

Volunteer of the Year
Carl Allum (Newport Pagnell Town)

Club of the Year
Woodley United FC

As far as inspiring and emotional nights in football go. This was right up there. Of course, none of it would have been possible without the amazing individuals in attendance, their dedication and passion for local football and their belief in making the future of our game the best it can be.

Perhaps most importantly, a thank you to all of the individuals who gave their time to nominate people. Often not reflected upon, without people submitting nominations we simply wouldn't have a platform to celebrate all the incredible acheivements of our local grassroots volunteers, so a huge thank you goes to everyone who took the time to nominate. 

Congratulations to all our nominees and to the winners from this year and the 2019/20 and 2020/21 seasons.