BBFA, FA & McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards 2021

Grassroots Football Awards Finalists Announced

We're delighted to announce the shortlisted finalists ahead of our annual BBFA Awards evening.

Our County FA will again be celebrating those people, clubs and leagues who make a positive difference across our communities at our annual Awards Ceremony which are taking place online, next month.

The FA & McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards are our chance to celebrate all the work that goes into the grassroots game in Berks & Bucks – and importantly, say a huge 'thank you' to all the incredible volunteers who inspire us to make our local game better For All.

As with previous years, we again asked for your help to uncover the exceptional, the tireless, and the devoted heroes of your grassroots game and you delivered. From 16 March to the 4 May 2021 you nominated in your hundreds which resulted in another record breaking year for number of nominations received. 

Of course, with so many exceptional stories of individual commitment and club & league achievements from across the region, this only served to make the judging process even more difficult than it has been in previous years. It therefore goes without saying that the shortlisted nominees in this year's Awards should be incredibly proud of their achievement.

We are delighted to be able to announce the shortlisted nominees in the following FA & McDonald's Grassroots Football Award categories, with the winners to be revealed in an online ceremony on Thursday 12th August 2021: 

Coach of the Year for Adult Teams

David Senior (Shinfield Rangers)
Rory Williams (The Lakers C F)
Chris Geary (OB City)

Coach of the Year for Youth Teams

Craig Backhouse (Windsor Youth FC)
Lisa Meadows (Laurel Park FC)
Gary Heimsoth (Thatcham Tornadoes FC)

Grounds Team of the Year

Simon Damery (Amersham Town)
Neil Humphrey (FC Castlethorpe Youth)
Charlotte Claridge-Alder (Abingdon Youth FC)

Club of the Year

Cholsey Bluebirds FC
Stoke Hammond Youth
4 Future Pro FC
AFC Reading 
Caversham United

Volunteer of the Year

Kevin Dobson (Marlow Youth)
Andreas Latta (Penn & Tylers Green FC)
Jack Harkness (Newbury Ladies FC)
Jermaine Webster (Cholsey Bluebirds FC)

Rising Star of the Year

Alexander Pratt (St Edmunds FC)
Nick Baker (Windsor Youth FC)
Freya Meadows Tuson (Laurel Park FC)

Spirit of Grassroots Football Award

Dwayne Mckenzie (Confidence Through Football)
Rick Hirst (Gerrards Cross & Fulmer FC)
Craig Smith (Hanney Youth FC)
Harrison Taylor (Reeves Rangers)

Project of the Year

Confidence Through Football
Sanctuary Strikers

Match Official of the Year

Charlotte Loughrey
James Riley

League of the Year

Berks County Girls League 
Youth Futsal league
Thames Valley Walking Football League

Additionally, we'd like to thank all of the people who nominated their friends, fellow volunteers, clubs and leagues for recognition. Grassroots football in Berks & Bucks simply wouldn't exist without the contributions and sacrifices you all make for the sheer love of the game and for that we cannot thank you enough.

Join us at the BBFA Awards Evening

We now look forward to the Awards evening which is to be held online via Microsoft Teams, on the Thursday 12th August at 7:00pm, and to celebrating with as many of you as we can to recognise the incredible grassrotos football volunteer network across our region.

To 'attend' the event and support your local grassroots heroes, simply complete the online registration form below which will provide you with an email confirmation and calendar link/invite.

Register to attend the BBFA Awards Evening